I Am Amplifying @boMFAustin Because

March 4, 2013 — Leave a comment
Richard McBlane Photography

Richard McBlane Photography

1. Back on My Feet  is a national nonprofit organization that uses running to help those experiencing homelessness change the way they see themselves so they can make real change in their lives that results in employment and independent living.

2. I’ve been running since 1976 and can relate to the healing power of lacing up a pair of sneakers when times get tough. Running saw me through some incredibly difficult times as a teenager, as a struggling college student, as a young adult trying to figure out what I was supposed to be doing with my life. Running allowed me to overcome a painful divorce, manage the challenges of being a single mom, and successfully stare down the barrel of late-stage breast cancer. Running continues to be one of my greatest sources of inspiration and I think the idea of BOMF is absolutely worth spreading.

3. Back on my Feet has proven that this unique homeless outreach (creating self-sufficiency through running) works: 46% of their participants have moved on to a job, housing or both.

Help get someone back on their feet and back on the road.  Join me in Amplifying Back on my Feet  during Amplify Austin.

Live here. Give here. Inspire here.

 

 

 

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

